Latvian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO)
News ArchiveNewsletterPhoto galleryVideo
The program is diverse with various pieces from Austria and Spain. Joaquín Turina and Enrique Granados are the cornerstones in the creation of Spanish national classical music identity of the first half of th 20th century. The musicians have chosen the Spanish-painted „The Toreador’s Prayer” from the creative work of Turina, whereas from Granados they have chosen the rarely heard and elegant Piano Quintet. In turn, the Viennese Classicism will be represented by the teenage Beethoven with his nice Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor and magnum opus of the whole program – Schuberts Fantasy in F minor which was written with an angels hand.

Good Friday's concert

April 3rd 7 p.m. Great Guild Hall
Aprli 4th 7 p.m. Vidzeme's concert hall "Cēsis"

In January 2013, the LNSO audience was delighted by the partnership between Māris Sirmais and Kārlis Lācis that led to a performance of non-academic tango and other ballroom music, the poetry of the night and a stormy piano concerto. This time the music will be different. The conductor and composer have created a ritual for Good Friday that is rooted in the mystery of the Way of the Cross and the poetry of Imants Ziedonis.
During the festive season, consider giving the gift of music! Let your friends and family choose whatever catches their fancy from the LNSO repertoire, with a gift certificate starting from 10.00 EUR. 

Gift certificates can be purchased from the box office at the Great Guild, Amatu iela 6, and they are valid for six months from the date of purchase. 

Information:, 67213643

Get your tickets for the LNSO season 2014/15 now! 
Special offer – LNSO season subscribtion: