Latvian National Symphony Orchestra (LNSO)
News ArchiveNewsletterPhoto galleryVideo

What could possibly be better than a symposium where after dinner speeches in praise of love are given by Socrates, Aristophanes and other wise minds of the antique world! In this programme, Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade on Plato’s Symposium motifs is placed alongside the successful businessman Charles Ives incredibly beautiful portrait of New England and Aaron Copland's sprightly traveling notes on his thrilling holiday in Mexico.


The chimes of the Saint Sophia cathedral in Novgorod is one of Serge Rachmaninoff’s most powerful childhood impressions and it can be heard in the Choral Symphony Bells whose great and beautiful score is interwoven with the happy blue skies of spring as well as a blanket of dark grey clouds. It is accompanied by Yevgeny Yevtushenko’s ponderous imagery of Soviet life in Dmitry Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 13 containing reflections of the tragedy of WWII and sketches of the reality of life in the post-war Soviet Union. 

During the festive season, consider giving the gift of music! Let your friends and family choose whatever catches their fancy from the LNSO repertoire, with a gift certificate starting from 10.00 EUR. 

Gift certificates can be purchased from the box office at the Great Guild, Amatu iela 6, and they are valid for six months from the date of purchase. 

Information:, 67213643

Get your tickets for the LNSO season 2014/15 now! 
Special offer – LNSO season subscribtion: